Muskingum River Watershed

Muskingum River watershedThe Muskingum River watershed is located in the eastern region of Ohio.  It drains a total of 8,051 square miles and flows through all or part of 27 counties.  Major municipalities partially or fully in the watershed include Akron, Mt. Vernon, Mansfield, Marietta, Newark, Canton, Zanesville, Cambridge and Wooster.

The northern portion of the watershed is a mixture of urban development, agricultural land uses such as cultivated crops, and forest.  The southern portion of the watershed is predominantly comprised of forest, with some hay and pasture lands and pockets of urban development.



Back to the TMDL page.