Linda Fee Oros 

Ohio EPA Announces 2013 State Science Day Governor’s Awards for Excellence in Environmental Protection Research

Ohio EPA announces the winners of the Governor's Award for Excellence in Environmental Protection Research for this year's State Science Day.

State Science Day is organized and sponsored by the Ohio Academy of Science and is the equivalent of a state championship for science projects. The primary objective of State Science Day is to provide an opportunity for students to demonstrate their abilities and interests in science through individual experimentation and research.

Each year, more than 35,000 students at more than 1,000 schools across Ohio participate in local science fairs and are judged on knowledge achieved, effective use of scientific method, clarity of expression, originality and creativity. Students who achieve superior ratings are invited to participate in district science fairs. More than 750 students from seventh through 12th grade, having each received a superior rating at a district science fair, participate in State Science Day and may be eligible for more than 90 different scholarships.

This year’s recipients of the Governor’s Award for Excellence in Environmental Protection Research are:

7th Grade

First Place: Mr. Kyle J. Taylor, Nightingale Montessori, Inc., Springfield (Clark County), Capture ammonia in swine manure and use and preserve it for the nitrogen cycle

Second Place:  Mr. Patrick J. Monnin, St. Andrew, Columbus (Franklin County), The impact of agricultural runoff on phosphorus levels in Ohio rivers

Third Place:  Mr. Michael Chmura, St. Hilary, Fairlawn (Summit County), The effect of pH on biodigester efficiency

Honorable Mention:  Mr. Kavin S. Vedamoorthy, New Albany MS, New Albany (Franklin and Licking counties), A simple biotest to determine the land oil spill toxicity

8th Grade

First Place: Ms. Jasmine N. Fujimura, Weisenborn MS, Huber Heights (Montgomery and Greene counties), Soy based ink, a more green solution?

Second Place:  Ms. Anastasia S. Johnson, Willow Creek Learning Center, Youngstown (Mahoning County), The toxic effects of hydraulic fracturing flowback water on daphnia and plants in Ohio creek water

Third Place: Ms. Sahaja Pandey, Walnut Hills HS, Cincinnati (Hamilton County) , Removing CO2 from the atmosphere and transforming it

Honorable Mention:  Mr. Charles A. Giganti, St. Raphael, Bay Village (Cuyahoga County), The solution to air pollution

9th Grade

First Place: Mr. Alexander M. Kan, Canfield HS, Canfield (Mahoning County), with Richard Abel, 11th grade, The effects of CO2 on algal growth

Second Place:  Mr. Alec M. Gill, Brookside HS, Sheffield Village (Lorain County), Nanocrystalline solar cells:  How anthocyanine dyes compare to Ruthenizer 535 dye

Third Place: Ms. Alyssa D. McQuate, Mapleton HS, Ashland (Ashland County), Fuel spills

Honorable Mention: Mr. Bryan J. Borodkin, St. Vincent St. Mary, Akron (Summit County), The effect of fertilizer production on Daphnia

10th Grade

First Place:  Mr. Bluye’  B. DeMessie, William Mason HS, Mason (Warren County), Sustainable and low cost approach for cleaning metal contaminated water using pyrolyzed banana peels

Second Place: Ms. Bethany G. Cox, Alliance HS, Alliance (Stark County), Can no-till farming with biochar continue to increase the growth of soybean plants?

Third Place: Ms. Erin E. Sanderson, Bloom Carroll HS, Carroll (Fairfield County), The environmental effects of the modern hydraulic fracturing process in a synthetic environment

Honorable Mention:  Mr. Charles D. Pei, Upper Arlington HS, Upper Arlington (Franklin County), Conversion of chitin to biofuels and bioproducts using clostridium acetobutylicum

11th Grade

First Place: Mr. Richard J. Abel, Canfield HS, Canfield (Mahoning County), with Alexander Kan, 9th grade, The impact of CO2 on algal growth

Second Place: Mr. Jacob L. Ollier, Carroll HS, Dayton (Montgomery County), The effect of a green roof on the rate of change of a building’s interior ambient temperature

Third Place: Mr. Mitchell T. Dunlap, Springfield HS, Springfield (Clark County), Bioremediation of organophosphates

Honorable Mention: Ms. Sarah A. Barbaro, Carroll HS, Dayton (Montgomery County), RainCheck

12th Grade

First Place: Ms. Ashley N. Scruse, Springfield HS, Springfield (Clark County), Which catalyst will yield the most efficient biofuel from soybean oil?

Second Place: Mr. John M. Holcomb and Ms. Kelsey A. MacGregor, Blanchester HS, Blanchester (Clinton County), Building an anaerobic digester for home use

Third Place: Mr. Michael J. Jacob, Lehman Catholic HS, Sidney (Shelby County), Recycled Insulation

Honorable Mention: Ms. Anna E. Grushetsky, Beaumont School, Cleveland Heights (Cuyahoga County), Is our forest a fractal? Mathematizing the distribution of deciduous trees

For more information about State Science Day contact Ohio EPA’s Office of Environmental Education or call (614) 644-2873.


The Ohio Environmental Protection Agency was created in 1972 to consolidate efforts to protect and improve air quality, water quality and waste management in Ohio. In the past 40 years, air pollutants dropped by as much as 90 percent; large rivers meeting standards improved from 21 percent to 89 percent; and hundreds of polluting, open dumps were replaced with engineered landfills and an increased emphasis on waste reduction and recycling. Ohio EPA….40 years and moving forward.

Get to the
Right Person Faster
Notify us about
Non-emergency Issues