Ohio EPA Holds Sulfur Dioxide Area Designations Hearing

Ohio EPA is holding a public hearing on Friday, Dec. 16, 2016 concerning areas in Ohio that the Agency will be recommending U.S. EPA designate as attaining the revised sulfur dioxide (SO2) standard.

The hearing will be held at 10:30 a.m. on the 6th Floor in conference room B, Lazarus Government Center, 50 W. Town Street, Suite 700, Columbus. Upon arrival, registration with a personal ID at the security desk is required.

The revised SO2 standard replaced the 24-hour and annual standards with a new 1-hour standard of 75 ppb. Recommendations will encompass all or parts of 85 counties not previously designated under the new 1-hour standard.

Ohio’s recommendations are due to U.S. EPA by Jan. 13, 2017. U.S. EPA will make a determination of the final designations by Dec 31. 2017. The comments received at the hearing will be used to formulate the State’s final formal recommendation proposal to U.S. EPA.

Comments on the proposed rule changes may be presented at the hearing or submitted to Ohio EPA Lazarus Government Center, Attention: Christopher Beekman, 50 W. Town Street, Suite 700, Columbus, Ohio 43216-1049. The public comment period ends Dec. 16.

For more information on the designations and associated documents see the proposal at: www.epa.ohio.gov/dapc/SIP/so2.aspx.


The Ohio Environmental Protection Agency was created in 1972 to consolidate efforts to protect and improve air quality, water quality and waste management in Ohio. Since then, air pollutants dropped by as much as 90 percent; large rivers meeting standards improved from 21 percent to 89 percent; and hundreds of polluting, open dumps were replaced with engineered landfills and an increased emphasis on waste reduction and recycling.

Get to the
Right Person Faster
Notify us about
Non-emergency Issues